ON STREET PHOTOGRAPHY and other life changing events

KNUT SKJÆRVEN/PHOTOGRAPHER/WRITER/RESEARCHER

Something Amazing Happened On My Way To The City.

The Americans

Robert Frank: The Americans, First Pantheon Edition, 1986.

That is exactly what happened.

On my way to the city yesterday, I stopped by a book shop that recently had opened a new section on photo books. Old and new stuff.

There it was on the high shelf and half way hidden behind larger volumes: The Americans by Robert Frank. Introduction by Jack Kerouac.

Not the first American edition from Grove Press in 1959 but the First Pantheon Edition from 1986. Soft cover.

I had no idea how much this book should cost and as I have two other versions already, I hesitated for an hour.

It must be a good buy, I thought, and as I also bought Walker Evans, The Hungry Eye, from Harry M. Abrams, I asked for 10 percent on both books. And got it.

Here comes the amazing thing: The Americans is brand new only carrying the marks from me carrying it back home. That was the amazing thing happening on my way to the city yesterday.

That edition is quite a scoop. Particularly if they have never been opened.

© Knut Skjærven.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 5, 2014 by in Books and tagged , .

barebones communication

Berlin Black And White

Street Photographer’s Toolbox

At The Gallery © Knut Skjærven

The Europeans

Just In Time © Knut Skjærven

Phenomenology And Photography

© Knut Skjærven

The EDGE

© Knut Skjærven

