ON STREET PHOTOGRAPHY and other life changing events

KNUT SKJÆRVEN/PHOTOGRAPHER/WRITER/RESEARCHER

When I See Gina I Have To Wear That Hat

Genuine Sisol © Knut Skjærven

Genuine Sisol © Knut Skjærven

Take a deep breath before you click the picture above.

It will take you to Metodo. International Studies in Phenomenology and Philosophy, Italy.

Ilaria D’Angelo wrote to me November 29, 2013, with an invitation to participate in an issue on virtuality they had on the design table. Not so much with text but with photograph. Street photographs. They have to be the main course, she added.

What can one say when Italy is calling? Think of Vittorio de Sica, Fellini and Visconti. Old friends from my university days.  La Strada and Italian neorealism. That is where Italian street photography begins.

Not to mention Sofia Loren and Gina.

So I said, yes. Delighted :-).

This things takes time but yesterday I got the an email asking me to do the proof for the short text I have written. The issue on virtuality will be on the street in a couple of weeks.

Ilaria D’Angelo originally asked me for only a few images. I sent loads so she had something to choose from. To my surprise she has used 10 of them. Now there is an article filling 13 pages. Ten with a single photographs on each picture page.

You will have seen most of the photographs. They are some of my personal icons. If that is not forbidden. Small coin photography.

The short article is not a big step for mankind. But it is a breakthrough for street photography now mixing with phenomenology and philosophy. It is more of a short intro to the pictures.

Look forward to it. I do. A couple of weeks, they say.

Oh, yes the photograph above is among the chosen. Genuine sisol now returning to Italy. On the left side. Borsalino.

When I see Gina I have to wear that hat. Like in real Italian street photography.

Have a good day.

© Knut Skjærven
September 27, 2014

#knutskjaerven #knutskjærven #newstreetagenda #oneverystreet #streetphotographersmanual #streetphotographerstoolbox #thetoolbox #thewordbook #theworkbook

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 27, 2014 by in Metodo, Publications and tagged , .

barebones communication

Berlin Black And White

Street Photographer’s Toolbox

The Europeans

Phenomenology And Photography

The EDGE

